//
you're reading...
Metaphysics

An Open Letter to Metaphysics – Aidan

Dear metaphysics,

Over the last few weeks I have got to know you well.  We’ve had good times and bad and in between was the lost mind-boggling noise of reality and all its subjective forms.  I’m not quite sure if I’m saying this (it could just be my perception) but I think I’m leaving you.

It’s not you though, it’s me.  I just can’t understand your complexity and what it is we need to do to make our lives the happiest they can possibly be.  You offer me two options at any given moment:  pleasure or suffering.  On one hand, you tell me that suffering is the only way we can afford pleasure; we cannot have goodness without suffering because suffering is what leads me to become a better human being.  On the other hand, you tell me that I should avoid suffering at all costs because it is an evil and that I should pursue a life of pleasure, but not too much because overindulgence is a form of suffering as well.  How is it that these things can live together?  Do you mean to tell me I must live with both these theories, one, or none?

I’ve given this a lot of thought.  I think I know how it should work.  You mean to say that the same thing that gives me suffering should give me pleasure, for the two are fundamentally linked.  This is how it is.  Suffering and pleasure are two different things from the same source, like a symbiotic relationship between a good and evil twin, one cannot survive without the other but both strive to destroy each other.

In spite of this, although I think I’ve figured out how it works, there is no objective way to prove it.  Every conclusion I come to has no measurable evidence so every conclusion is confined to the limitations of my mind, my perception, my experiences.  I will continue living having to experience suffering and experience pleasure but I will not let you continue to play mind games with me.  Our association cannot and no longer stands.

Sincerely,

Aidan

Discussion

4 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Metaphysics – Aidan

  1. Hi,

    This is a creative post. I like the idea of an open letter. Is it metaphysics that gives you the two options between pleasure or suffering or is it just life? Why can’t we have goodness without suffering? I agree that suffering can produce various goods in our lives (i.e. a desire to eliminate suffering for others, empathy, compassion, humility and such) but it is a far stronger claim to say that we CAN’T have goodness without suffering. Don’t you no some relatively nice, productive, well-meaning people who haven’t suffer much at all. Wouldn’t that indicate that suffering, though it can produce depth and goodness, it not strictly necessary.

    And does metaphysics tell us to avoid all suffering at all costs, and why should suffering give us pleasure? Isn’t that weird. Also, evil cannot survive without goodness but surely goodness can survive without evil I would think.

    I like this post. I am just looking for a bit of clarification. But maybe asking for clarification will feel like a girl friend you’ve already broken up with continuing to call and ask you out on a date – in other words, a bit annoying.

    Chris

    Posted by Chris Price | October 24, 2013, 5:58 pm
  2. I can sympathise. But I think you have given up on metaphysics for no good reason and much too early.

    Posted by guymax | October 25, 2013, 2:16 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Bumbershoots, Metaphysics, Logic & Coaching | ADD . . . and-so-much-more - October 28, 2013

What do you think?

