//
you're reading...
Logic & Scientific Philosophy

Piper’s Logic

“I am in here because I am no different from anybody else in here. I made bad choices, I committed a crime, and being in here is no one’s fault but my own.”http://tv-series.me/orange-is-the-new-black-s1e6-wac-pack/

Skip to 6:00

if jails are for bad guys

and I am in jail

then I am a bad guy

Sentential logic for which we were not provided forms, therefore I cannot testify to its validity or soundness. Also, one could argue that it is not factually correct because judges and juries can come to the wrong verdict and send innocent people to jail. However, I like this argument because I can stage it that way, as well as this way:

If I am a bad guy

and I am in jail

then jails are for bad guys

I’m really fuzzy on sentential logic and inductive/deductive logic, but I think this shows all three.

This logic came from Piper wanting her mum to stop talking about her as separate from the rest of the prisoners. She needed her to realize that some of the other women’s crimes were petty or committed with good intentions, and that she was either equal to or worse than them. Socially, this may change our perspective on convicts. Not everyone in a jail has committed some horrible murder and raped a dozen children. Some may have done no more than carrying a suitcase of drug money for their girlfriend one time. However they all end up in the same fish bowl and you could just as easily end up in there with them for some small bad decision.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Piper’s Logic

  1. I can deeply agree. Well done

    Posted by thelaserbeam17 | September 30, 2013, 6:08 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Heather 2013 | Philosophy 12 - October 29, 2013

What do you think?

