//
you're reading...
Introduction to Philosophical Inquiry, Uncategorized

Why Be an Open Participant?

An ancient proverb states, “those who walk with the wise become wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm.” Philosophy means ‘love of wisdom.’ Since wisdom seems preferable to folly, I’ve spent a lot of the last 5 or 6 years reading philosophers searching for wisdom, insight, and help in my own thinking and worldview formation.

In my readings sometimes I encounter what, to the uninitiated, appears to be needless obscurity or profundity far beyond my intellectually pay grade and I end up longing for another Hunger Games Trilogy.  But occasionally in my philosophical reading I will come across a line like this:

 “The present is never our goal; the past and present are our means: the future alone is our goal. Thus, we never live but hope to live; and always hoping to be happy, it is inevitable that we will never be so.” (Blaise Pascal Pensees)

And, as a reader, I’m forced to pause, reflect, and ponder deeply about how I am living my life in this fast-paced world. ‘Am I really so foolish as to wander around in times that don’t belong to me and neglect the only one that does?’ (Pascal) The end result is a refocusing on that which is important, that which is meaningful, and that which is worth pursuing.

I once read that there are four perennial philosophical questions:

  1. What is? What is real?
  2. How can we know what is real?
  3. Who are we, who want to discover that which is real? ‘Know thyself’ etc.
  4. What should we be, or how should we live?

All four of these questions strike me as fundamentally important to living well in this world. Why be an online open participant? The answer is simple. We get to explore some of these perennial questions throughout the course of our time together this semester. My goal in this class is to learn from all of you and add a few thoughts along the way.

I’ve been asked to introduce myself. My name is Chris Price. I went to highschool with Mr. Jackson. I am doing my Masters Degree at Trinity Western University. I am the pastor of a local church. I’m an aspiring writer. I love philosophy of science and philosophy of religion best. My wife teaches French at Riverside. We have two children; Kaeden and Mila. I can’t help showing you a picture.

Looking forward to the class!

Image

About Chris Price

Pastor at Calvarybaptist.ca

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why Be an Open Participant?

  1. *And* junior high – *And* elementary school!

    Great to have you along for the ride again, Chris, and to have this introduction to your studies and your ongoing studies in philosophy. I’m sure your participation will be fruitful for all of us here, and will hopefully continue to further your own ravenous thinking.

    Thanks for the post!

    Bryan

    Posted by bryanjack | September 10, 2013, 4:46 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: #PhilsDayOff Assignment Description & Open Online Learner Invite | Philosophy 12 - October 11, 2013

What do you think?

