//
you're reading...
Logic & Scientific Philosophy

Your Argument Is Valid, But Lacks Truth

All Canadians live in igloos. I am Canadian, therefore I live in an igloo.

The premises would be that I am Canadian and that Canadians live in igloos. The conclusion would be that I live in an igloo, because I’m Canadian. In this case, Canadians would be the middle term, the fact that Canadians live in igloos would be the predicate term and I would be the subject term.

This statement is valid, however the statement is not sound because the premise that all Canadians live in igloos is untrue.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

